On Location: Fika (Shoreditch, London)

Fika means a Swedish coffee break, usually involving a little snack. I know this, because I used to live there. I loved living in Stockholm – lovely coffee bars, and great cakes and snacks. When looking for a place to meet my friend K a couple of days ago, I discovered Fika, a Swedish café/bar/grill with a roof terrace on Brick Lane. While we didn’t make it there in the end, I decided that I really did have to go. Yesterday, I did just that.

Book in hand and with a vague appointment to meet a friend there if she was able to come, I jumped on the tube and headed over to Fika. How would it be? Could I look forward to tucking into a range of Nordic goodies? On the way over, I had ideas kanelbullar (cinnamon buns) and dillpotatis (potato salad with dill) in my mind.

Fika has a pretty slick website, with a philosophy based around simple, fresh food. So far, so good. I turned up, and the place looked promising. The owners have gone for the pared-down Scandinavian shabby-chic minimalist look, with a few ironic twists (reindeer skulls decked out with pearls, astroturf cut into the shape of a reindeer). I checked my watch – it was 3.30pm, so time for coffee and a much-anticipated cinnamon bun.

Except…they didn’t have any cinnamon buns.

I was almost ready to turn around and walk out. What is the point in a Swedish cafe without cinnamon buns? I ordered my coffee and settled for what was euphemistically called a summer berry tart (in May – why?). This might have been alright if it had been cooked properly, but the middle was borderline raw and unpleasantly doughy. It had been heated slightly, I suspect in part to hide the fact it probably wasn’t quite cooked. This cake was not difficult or elaborate, so it pretty bad to flunk on something so simple. This place would last about five minutes on the streets of Södermalm in its current form.

Would I go back? No. Perhaps the mains and savoury dishes are better, perhaps it’s the coolest place on Earth when it gets busy, but frankly, I don’t really care. It’s cute enough as a place for a drink, but from what I had, there are other places on Brick Lane serving great coffee and (in my view) better food, so it’s not as if you need to settle.

Fika, 161a Brick Lane, London E1 6SB. Tel: 020 7613 2013. Tube: Shoreditch High Street.

4 Comments

Filed under London, On Location

4 responses to “On Location: Fika (Shoreditch, London)

  1. Pingback: On Location: Nordic Bakery (Soho, London) « London Eats

  2. Pingback: Kanelbullar (Swedish Cinnamon Buns) | LondonEats

  3. Thank you, you’ve saved me a futile trip to brick lane! I used to work next to Nordic bakery in golden sq and eat at least a cinnamon bun a day so my standards are super high. Sometimes I think I take my kanelbulle even more seriously than the swedes!

    • Hi – good to hear from a fellow cinnamon bun fan! My trip to Fika was a couple of years ago, so in fairness, they may have revamped their offering. I had a quick look at their website today and they have pictures of buns and semlor on there, so might be worth popping in if you happen to be passing.

      There is also a Swedish bakery called Fabrique near Hoxton station (http://fabrique.co.uk/) – haven’t been so cannot vouch for it.

Tell me what you are thinking!

