Mind the Gap

I hope that you’ve all enjoyed the last two-and-a-bit years of my baking, recipes, drinks, travels and random bits of London life. But things move on, and from next week, these “adventures in a North London kitchen” will be no more…

…but fret not – I’m not giving up! Rather I’m trading in North London’s Stoke Newington for a new life south of the river (gasp!) and moving to Clapham. It’s also near enough to the craziness of Brixton to help keep things “interesting”.

Bear with me during what is hopefully going to be a short hiatus as I grapple with living out of boxes. There is a silver lining to all this chaos – as well as a new house, I will finally get to use some of the items I bought from the Iittala shop in Helsinki last summer, I can install some vintage lights I bought in a Brussels antique store the year before that, and most exciting of all – swap my little window box for a proper garden. Exciting times!

In the meantime, you can see what was going on this time in 2010 here (Easy Lemon Cheesecake) and in 2011 here (Sour Cream and Cinnamon Swirl Cake).

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Mind the Gap

  1. Arlene

    Welcome to South London.

  2. peasepudding

    Good luck with the move, south not bad, I used used to live in Fulham and Sth Wimbledon, lots of fun times there. Look forward to hearing about your new adventures.

    • Thanks – I like South London. Some people get very snooty about it, and I really don’t see why. Bigger houses, and some great parks. I’ve also got easy access to Clapham Junction, so lots of weekends in the Sussex countryside and visits to the South Coast

  3. Best of luck with your new move and look forward to your new endeavors! Kindly, judy

  4. Best wishes on your move and congrats on the new house…it will be exciting making it a marvelous place for you to dwell.

    We look forward to more ideas from you! Much appreciation ~ 🙂

  5. I studied abroad at Cambridge University during the summer after my junior year of College with two of my best girlfriends. We loved the coined phrase “Mind the Gap” so much that we bought one of those cheesy tourist T-shirts that said “Mind the Gap” just to laugh about and wear to bed. I am glad I stumbled upon your blog, I look forward to reading your posts!
    Christina

  6. Good luck over there! Hope you keep on posting, as I really like the international recipes that you choose and the way you represent them.

    • Thanks – I like to try new things, so good to hear that it is appreciated. With the Olympics coming, I think I’ll need to make sure I cover off all corners of the globe, which should be fun

  7. Terri (NZ)

    Glad to hear that you are unable to cut ties with sharing your kitchen ‘doings’ with rest of the globe…the gap between you and us here in the Antipodes is as nothing…feel free to move wherever you damn well please…just don’t stop the recipe blogging!

    • Hi Terri – I’ve loved the blogging, as it gets me to try new things and it’s a nice way to keep a record of what I make and keep in contact with friends who live far away. But I know what you mean about the north/south business in London, some people get so obsessed about it!!! I’ll keep ’em coming, don’t worry about that.

  8. Enjoy getting settled in your new surroundings!

    • Thanks Annika – I’ve seen you’ve been doing a lot of house renovation recently, so that’s going to be my life for the next few months. But it will be fun too.

  9. Good luck with your move

  10. Looking forward to seeing some reviews from South of the river!

Tell me what you are thinking!

