Bonfire Night Flapjacks

If you’re planning to go to a Bonfire Night celebration, then chances are you’ll be looking for something to munch on as you’re looking skywards to take in the fireworks.

With this in mind, I’ve played around with my go-to flapjack recipe to make it a bit more seasonal. In addition to the usual butter, sugar and oats, I’ve also added some spices as well as a rather random selection of things from the store cupboard – pumpkin and sunflower seeds, apricots, dates, sultanas, hazelnuts and spelt flakes. The result is sticky, delicious and has a very autumnal flavour. It also takes about ten minutes to make, so it is incredibly easy to whip up in a hurry. Just to make the point, I’ve got the recipe below – and you’ll see that all the “extras” are measured either by the teaspoon or by the handful.

bonfire_flapjack

If you’re keen to have a go yourself, you really don’t need much more than sugar, butter and rolled oats. Otherwise, just add whatever you want (or more realistically – whatever you have in the cupboard). Dried fruits work very well, as do nuts and seeds. The one unusual thin on the list is spelt flakes – I love using these in flapjacks as they stay very crisp and add some interesting texture. It’s actually taken me a while to track them down – I used to be able to buy then in a shop in Stoke Newington, but have not found them in Clapham. Lucky for me I stumbled upon a new Wholefoods store near Piccadilly Circus, so I’ve now got easy access to all manner of weird and wonderful ingredients. Result!

So there you have it – a quick and fairly healthy idea for Bonfire Night, or just to enjoy during a quiet moment with a cup of tea.

To make Bonfire Night Flapjacks (makes 16):

• 175g butter
• 175g soft brown sugar
• 40g (2 tbsp) golden syrup
• pinch of salt
• 200g rolled oats
• 45g (3 handfuls) sultanas
• 35g (3 teaspoons) candied ginger
• 20g (2 handfuls) pumpkin seeds
• 15g (1 handful) sunflower seeds
• 20g (2 handfuls) spelt flakes
• 40g (1 handful) apricots, chopped
• 25g (1 handful) hazelnuts, chopped
• 25g (1 handful) dates, chopped
• 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
• 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1. Pre-heat the oven to 190°C (375°F). Line a 20cm (8 inch) square baking tray or cake tin with non-stick paper.

2. Put the butter, sugar, syrup and salt (if using) in a pan. Heat gently until the butter is melted, and then boil for one minute. Add the candied ginger and mix well.

3. In a large bowl, mix all the other ingredients. Add the butter/sugar mixture and stir well. Put into a tray, spread the mixture evenly, press down and bake for 20 minutes. It should have a rich brown colour when done.

4. Once the mega-flapjack is cooked, let it cool completely, then turn onto a chopping board and cut into pieces.

Worth making? Absolutely! This reicpe is incredbily easy to make, tastes delicious, and can be

14 Comments

Filed under Recipe, Sweet Things

14 responses to “Bonfire Night Flapjacks

  1. Mmmm, they look scrumptious!🙂 I’ve never made flapjacks before and I wonder why – they look straightforward enough even for me to make😉

  2. I love flapjacks! It’s been so, so long since I’ve eaten one but these look like a perfect re-entry into flapjack world. Love the copious dried fruit and spice, mmm. We don’t have bonfire night over here in Australia but I do remember it from my English childhood. Hope that you enjoy the celebration xx

  3. Mmm delicious, I’m going to make these tonight – thank you x

  4. I never had Flapjacks when I lived in Scotland and have been seeing them all over the internet recently. I even received some mini-flapjacks in my Graze order, and they were yummy! I will have to try a version of yours (sans nuts, due to an allergy) for my daughter to take in her school lunches. Enjoy Bonfire Night! No such thing in LA, EVER, oh, unless you count our wildfires!

  5. Mo

    i find it hard to survive without my rolled oats + whatever i can find in the kitchen bars, i should try these

  6. Lovely autumnal flavours in these – I always think a flapjack goes down a treat at this time of year.

  7. Hello🙂 , I hope you remember me. I’m Daisy Blog Writing On The Road. I will I commented recently, but I’ve always followed. You are always very interesting. In recent weeks I have made many changes to my blog and my social network accounts. Even so, I was absent from the comments. I invite you to my blog, click on the right to translate my blog and read my last post: socialize?
    I would like to socialize with my friends of the blog. Read and understand. Thanks for your attention! With affection. Daisy.
    Happy weekend!
    And congratulations for the wonderful blog, as always interesting!
    Kisses!!

  8. Love bonfire night and, more importantly, love flapjack! Recently gone wheat and dairy free (theintolerantstudent.wordpress.com) so in search of a suitable substitute. Any suggestions? Oh and I’m also in London so especially love your posts! Keep up the good work! X

    • Hello! You ask an interesting question about taking this wheat and dairy free. Replacing the butter with a vegetable oil alternative should be fairly easy, but I’m less certain about the oats. If you’re only avoiding wheat, then oats should be fine, but I think they still have things like gluten in them. What you might want to do is work out what grains you can eat, and the head down to Wholefoods in South Ken or at Piccadilly Circus. They have things like puffed millet, puffed rice and spelt flakes, so some of those might work well.

      Let me know if you manage to crack the flapjack issue!

  9. Mmmm, what a lovely idea! Love flap-jacks. They were the only thing I was allowed to bake when I was wee as they don’t have egg in them.

    I’m an Islington based blogger (of my own blog and also editor of the Islington Blog) and was wondering if you’d be interested in collaborating together on something yummy and food based?

    You can follow me on bloglovin for a while and see what my blog is about, if you’d like🙂

    Hannah (Chad does London)
    http://www.the-london-blog.co.uk

  10. Hi Russell, just discovered your blog and will be happily following- it’s great. Also very hungry looking at your flapjack recipe…. Note to self…. MUST MAKE! xx

    • Hi Melissa! Glad you like the blog. Do have a go at these flapjacks, they are super-easy to make and if you add the spices and fruit, they are also great for the festive period. They’re great with a cuppa when you get home from a walk on a cold day.

  11. these sound delicious, thanks for posing up this..

    Simon

Tell me what you are thinking!

