Scottish food: Cranachan

You know that Scotland is famous for whisky (spelled without the “e”), tablet, shortbread and smoked salmon. What you might not know is that it is also a very prolific producer of soft fruit. And in my view, the jewel in the crown among them is the raspberry. Let’s just pause for a moment to admire one of the little fellows:

If you are from certain parts of Scotland and of a certain age, there is a pretty good chance that you spent many a summer “at the berries” (i.e. being given little choice in the matter of going to a farm to pick raspberries). There is perhaps a certain romanticism attached to spending long, warm summer days in fields of fruit….

That’s more or less how I remember it, but that’s probably the rose-tinted view. I suspect the reality was more like standing at the muddy farm gates at 7am, and then spending most of the day rummaging around in bushes that are covered in lots and lots of little spikes, encountering lots of creepy-crawlies. At the end of the day, your hands would be stained red and, thanks to those tiny barbs, could be really quite itchy. But when you’re young, it seems that you have hit on a way of earning more money than you could possibly ever imagine. And that’s how I earned my first £100! I can still remember the sense of achievement that I had earned a three-figure sum! To this day, it serves as a reference point for the value of money – it was hours of physical work to earn it, and it made me a little more selective about how I spent it.

Anyway, moving past the misty-eyed recollections of summers past, with this abundance of lovely raspberries in Scotland, there are two tasty things you could make. Most obviously, you could make raspberry jam, which is peerless when enjoyed on fresh scones. If you want to make it, just put equal weights of raspberries and white sugar in a pot with a squeeze of lemon juice – bring to the boil, then simmer until set.

The less obvious thing to make is….to make a classic Scottish dessert called cranachan (complete with that harsh “ch” sound in the middle). If you’re looking for a reference point, you could call this a Scottish trifle, made with cream, oats and raspberries. Yes, oats. Trust me on this.

I’ve actually been hoping to post a cranachan recipe for a while, but I felt I should wait until I actually got my hands on some Scottish rasps. Not that there is anything wrong with the berries that come from Kent or Hampshire, but I just prefer the Scottish ones! However, my timing is less than perfect. I missed the main season what with moving house and the 2012 Games, and we’ve now slipped out of raspberry season here in the UK. However, I realise that there are parts of the world where these little fellows are just coming into season, so I reasoned that there would always be a good time to do this recipe. That, and by pure chance, I finally managed to get my hands on what must be the last punnets of fruit that came out of Scotland this year. It was a sign, clearly, that I had to feature cranachan!

This dessert is very simple – a combination of crushed raspberries, toasted oats, lightly whipped cream, heather honey and a dash of whisky. If you’ve made sure that the cream comes from happy cows that have been enjoying the lush green pastures of Aberdeenshire (or similar) then you’ve got a 100% Scottish dessert. It combines the sweet tartness of raspberries, nutty toasted oats that have a little bit of crunch to them, and lightly whipped cream that is flavoured with whisky and honey. Even with the oats, it’s a very luxurious dessert.

There are many different ways to make cranachan, and as I am not really in a position to say which is the authentic version, I’ll give you a few options and you can pick which you prefer. Some people throw everything in a bowl and mix,  others like to have distinct layers of cream, fruit, honey and oats. I prefer the “layers” approach and like to put it together at the last minute – the different textures make this a more interesting dessert. Also think about how long you will let the dessert sit – the longer you leave it to sit, the softer the oats will get and the stiffer the cream gets. I would assemble the dessert just before serving, so you can still appreciate the different textures.

And finally, I will deal with the obvious question – can you use yoghurt in place of the cream? I think you could, and while it won’t be the same, it will still be tasty. Just don’t try to play too fast and loose with the recipe by getting rid of the oats. Now that would be sacrilege!

To make Cranachan (serves 4):

• 60g oats (pinhead or jumbo rolled)(*)
• 300g fresh raspberries, plus more to decorate

• 300ml double cream
• 6 tablespoons honey, melted and cooled
• 6 tablespoons whisky

1. Dry-toast the oats in a frying pan over a medium heat. They are ready when the flakes are just browned and smell toasted, but should not be dark. Leave to cool.

2. In a bowl, lightly crush half the raspberries. Fold in the remaining whole raspberries and crush lightly – there should still be large whole pieces.

3. In another bowl, mix 3 tablespoons of honey with 3 tablespoons of whisky.

4. In another bowl, mix the cream and the rest of the honey and whisky. Whip until the cream thickens but is still soft. It should still be floppy, not stiff.

5. To assemble the dessert(**), add some of the raspberry mixture, then a sprinkling of oats and then some of the cream mixture. Add two more layers in the same order (raspberries, oats, cream, raspberries, oats, cream). Top with a few whole raspberries, and drizzle with the honey-whisky mixture. Serve immediately.

(*) Use as little or as much of the toasted oats as you prefer – you might want to go easy on the oats unless you’re a hardcore porridge fan.

(**) If you’re making this for a dinner, I recommend toasting the oats, making the whisky/honey mixture and toasting the oats ahead of time, but assemble everything at the very last moment. It’s also best not to keep the raspberries in the fridge, as they have a better flavour at room temperature.

14 Comments

Filed under Recipe, Scottish Food, Sweet Things

14 responses to “Scottish food: Cranachan

  1. Fabulous dessert! Makes me ine for my childhood in the highlands 🙂

  2. And we CERTAINLY would never get rid of the whisky!

  3. petit4chocolatier

    This looks scrumptious; and love the whiskey!

  4. Such beautiful photos – I love the simplicity of them. And thank you for this recipe. I’ve seen the last of the raspberries hanging around in Sussex, so this would be a good use for them.

    • Ooh, you’re lucky to still have some rasps on the bushes there! Glad you like the pictures – sometimes the dishes just look so nice on their own. And I’m proud of those little glasses – the outside is supposed to look like birch bark.

  5. Your cranachan looks nice. It always seems more like a breakfast food than a dessert to me, though, so I have never ordered or made it, even though I am really curious about it. Somehow I feel like it would let me down. I blame the oats!

    • Hi Annika – I can see why you might think it’s like breakfast, but…eh…would you have whisky at breakfast? But seriously, it is worth trying, and wonderful if made well. If you’re a bit funny about the oats, you could try making some sort of granola with the oats and honey for some crunch. But I find the whisky-honey mixture on top really stops it seeming like Bircher muelsi. Go on – give it a bash!

  6. Wow! Cranachan looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it!!

  7. I’ve just found your blog, your recipes are after my own heart. Your cranachan is as authentic (says she, I may be a Scot but I have no clear concept of what an authentic cranachan really is!). My recipe is almost identical. I grow my own rasps and favour Glen Moy , so it is a seasonal delight. Much debate about pinhead versus rolled here in the Hebrides. Both work – so long the dessert is assembled at the last minute and not soggy, and I agree, layers are the way. Also, I love yoghurt, but cream is a must – the whisky cuts through the richness perfectly. I recommend Highland Park Malt, or 10 year old Balvenie. A big kick of malt means it is surely a dessert, not breakfast! PS Wish I could produce photos like yours.

  8. Judith

    Thank you very much for this recipe!
    It helped me to create a Cranachan which tasted a bit like the one I ate in Inverness last summer 🙂
    It was a bit tricky to lay my hands on proper double cream here in Germany (and I had to import the oatmeal 😉 ) but I liked the result and will do it again next summer 🙂

    Best wishes from Aachen, Germany (Christmas Market just started 😉 )

    Judith

Tell me what you are thinking!