Pumpkin Seed Gnocchi

I realise that I don’t feature as many savoury dishes here as I probably could, or indeed should. This is not because I live off only sweet things, but I find that savoury food is rather trickier to take pictures of. I might make an amazing aubergine lasagne or killer stir-fry, but trying to get an appealing shot when it’s dark outside and you’re in a rush to eat after a hard day at work…well, it just doesn’t really work. Great food, not so great pictures.

To try and change this, I thought I would share a very simple recipe using pumpkin seed butter. I’ve been using this butter in a lot of dishes recently. This is similar to nut butters, but made from pumpkin seeds, their skins lending a lovely green colour.

pumpkingnocchi2

This really is simplicity itself – you cook the gnocchi, then reserve a couple of spoons of the salted cooking water, mix with pumpkin seed paste (plus a dash of salt to taste), add some pumpkin oil (or olive oil if you prefer), and that’s it. You magically end up with a bright green, creamy, nutty sauce with no dairy, and which takes about two minutes to make.

pumpkingnocchi

6 Comments

Filed under Recipe, Savoury

6 responses to “Pumpkin Seed Gnocchi

  1. Looks so delicious, chewy and love the idea of a pumpkin seed flavor!

  2. This looks sooo good! I could eat a plateful right now and I just had breakfast!

    • Thanks. The flavour is really different – rich and nutty, and surprisingly light (which I put down to the lack of cream). But right after breakfast…you’re keen! 😉

  3. Hi,

    We’ve recently launched the website Alldishes.co.uk. It’s a search engine that aims to gather all the best recipes from UK and Irish websites and blogs. We’ve noticed that you have a lot of great looking recipes on your blog that we would love to feature on our site. To read more about how it all works and to sign up with your blog, please visit http://alldishes.co.uk or send us an email on info@alldishes.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you!
    Kind regards,
    Senka

  4. bec {daisy and the fox}

    never heard of pumpkin seed butter before – but i’m sure it’s delicious! looks fab! 🙂

    • Hi Bec – both the seed butter and the seed oil are delicious. Dark green with a rich, nutty flavour. The butter can seem a touch bitter when it is pure, but a tiny dash of salt makes it utterly delicious.

Tell me what you are thinking!