Caraway Biscuits

Many, many moons ago I saw a recipe by Heston Blumenthal as part of his “In Search of Perfection” series for making caraway biscuits.

My firm intention to make these biscuits was triggered by my fondness for caraway. I think it’s an underused spice, which is a shame, as I think it really has a lovely aromatic flavour. I love it in cheese and savoury biscuits, and it is fantastic in bread and with beetroot. So this struck me as an interesting recipe, that I mentally filed on my “to try” list.

However, I never quite got round to making these biscuits. The reason was that all this perfection seemed to involve too much work…multiple stages of chilling the dough, rolling it out to wafer-thinness, freezing it, then baking a sheet of the mixture and then cutting out the biscuits. So as far as I could see, there would be lots of scraps left over, which didn’t strike me as really all that perfect. Clearly, I’m too lazy for perfection.

So what have I done? Well, when in doubt, make up your own recipe, or make some tweaks to an old favourite. I’ve opted for the latter. I made some Dutch almond wreaths at Christmas, and I liked the way the dough worked – it held its shape and the biscuits were buttery yet crisp. So I have taken that recipe, and adapted it by adding a little ground almonds (a nod to Heston’s recipe) and a decent amount of caraway seeds.

The result is, frankly, amazing. Think of these as quite an adult biscuit – it’s a sophisticated taste, that goes well with a cup of Earl Grey or some green tea. Might not go down so well with an infant, but that’s their loss. I love them.

To make caraway biscuits (makes 40):

• 100g light brown sugar, sieved
• 160g plain flour
• 50g ground almonds
• 150g butter, finely chopped
• 1 egg white, lightly whisked
• 1/4 teaspoon salt, finely ground
• 10g (2 heaped teaspoons) caraway seeds

To finish the cookies (optional):

• milk
• caster sugar

Start by dry toasting the caraway seeds in a saucepan over a medium heat – keep them moving until they smell fragrant (1-2 minutes). Pour onto a place and leave until cold.

Put all the dough ingredients in a bowl. Use your hands to quickly knead to a smooth dough – it will be quite sticky. Place the bowl in the fridge for 30 minutes (this makes the dough much easier to work with). In the meantime, preheat the oven to 160°C. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface until around 1/3 cm thick. Use a round cutter (5 cm / 2 inch diameter) to make the biscuits and transfer to the baking sheet.

If you want, brush the biscuits with a little milk and sprinkle with sugar (optional).

Bake the cookies for around 20 minutes until lightly golden, turning half-way to make sure they colour evenly – watch carefully as there is not much between “cooked” and “burned”.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Caraway Biscuits

  1. We had some of Heston’s caraway biscuits on Friday at Dinner alongside an earl grey and chocolate ganache and it was such a delicious combination. Love the idea of making them at home too, you’re so right about caraway.

  2. These look so delicious. They are beautiful.

  3. Those look delish. I have been wanting to make some home made crackers.

  4. Looks really good. I love things that have a very strong flavor such as caraway to balance out the sugar. It makes it easier to eat more of them!

  5. I agree, lovely images and the biscuits do look good!

  6. I also think that caraway is an underused spice – I tend to add them to waver-thin panfried potato slices and wherever else I can get away with it. Will definitely try these biscuits.

  7. peasepudding

    They look perfect, I really love caraway too from many years living in Germany where you find it in a lot of bread.

  8. Pingback: Light Rye Bread « The Irreverent Baker

  9. Hi londoneats! I am not struck on the idea of caraway at all but I DO absolutely love your photos! They are excellent!

  10. I just have to try these! Love the idea of caraway in a biscuit like this.

  11. Clare

    I made these at the weekend and I love them. Although I think they benefited from adding a little extra flour, before that the dough was just too sticky and didn’t really hold its shape. That may just have been because it was such a hot day though!

    • Hi Clare – I remember that when I made them, I kept the dough chilled as it gets quite sticky quite easily. But more flour also works! Glad you like them – I always get a little sense of relief when someone makes a recipe of mine and it succeeds

  12. Pingback: Fika: Cardamom Biscuits | kokblog

Tell me what you are thinking!