Liebster Blog Award

Oh, I’ve been a little bit naughty – so many ideas about things to blog about, but in the midst of all that, I’ve gotten a little behind on my comments. I really appreciate it when people comment, and I do try to respond to everyone.

Then as I was scrolling through…well, seems the Liebster Blog Award was given to me by two great fellow food bloggers. To say I am chuffed to bits is an understatement! I am still amazed by the idea that people, both round the corner and on the other side of the world, are reading what I write and do so with interest. That two people want to put me forward for anything…yup, that pretty much knocked my socks off!

So who are these lovely people? First off, I got an award from Alli at Pease Pudding, a Brit now living in New Zealand. She makes food that looks beautiful and explores exciting flavour combinations, while also posting on some lovely travel experiences (anyone who allows food to form a major part of their holidays is all right be me).

Second, I was also nominated by Paola at I Worship Food, another foodie from my part of the world. She’s got a way with sweet things – pandering to my Scottish sweet tooth! I should also add that it gave me a bit of a giggle when I read that she didn’t know whether I’m a London gent or lady (ahm…it’s the former!). That’s happened a couple of times now, so I’ll take the hint and update my “About” page too.

The rules of the Liebster Award are:

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog

2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you

3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed (see below)

5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

I read a lot of food-replated blogs, but here is a little selection of my favourites that might not be on everyone’s radar (and one non-food wildcard).

(1) My Danish Kitchen – I’ve been following the culinary exploits of Gitte, a Dane in the US, as she makes a combination of American and classic Danish fare. I like this style of food, as it reminds me of my travels in Northern Europe.

(2) Eating For England – this is another blog from an expat in the US, this time a fellow Brit. Again, a nice source of ideas with an Anglo-American twist, but the reason I really came to love this site was a very touching post about rediscovering a family recipe for Welsh Cakes.

(3) Je veux être bonne – to stop my French getting too rusty, I love to stop by this site and just look at the pictures – very creative and vibrant photography and lovely recipes.

(4) London Bakes – this is Kathryn, a fellow London foodie, and with a name like that, I’ve always thought it sounds like a sister site to mine – one baking, one eating! I like the recipes, which are a great source of inspiration, and the glimpses into a different side of the same city as I am experiencing. In particular, I’m enjoying the photo a day challenge pictures – one London, two views.

(5) House in Brussels – this is a website detailing a renovation project in Brussels. I love the jaw-dropping combination of the scale of the project they’ve taken on and seeing the various parts of the house coming back together. And I look forward to visiting in due course!

If you’ve got a moment, do take the time to check out these sites!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Gosh, thank you so much! I also feel like you a brother blog so I’m quite glad you said that as it makes me feel a little less crazy for thinking that! The feeling is completely mutual – I do so love your London too.

  2. Hi there, Seems like awards come in avalanches – I’ve sent you the Kreativ Blogger Award at http://dinnerfornone.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/another-award-lifes-little-coincidences/. I searched your site but couldn’t find out whether you’ve already received it, so I hope you haven’t…

  3. peasepudding

    Keep up your beautiful work, it’s not easy trying to keep up with all the lovely blogs put there.

  4. Your blog deserves this! And now I will go spend some time looking at your awardees, to kill the time until dinner! :o)

  5. That smiley was supposed to loook like this: :)!

  6. And ‘look’ is spelled with only two ‘o’. Maybe I should eat FIRST! Sorry for bombarding this post with correction comments!

  7. Imagine my surprised when I took a peek at your blog this morning and noticed that you mentioned my blog. Thank you so much🙂 I want you to know that I really enjoy following your blog as well. Your pictures are always superior and I just love the variety of recipes you bring to all of us. I also have to admit that it brings me great pleasure whenever you post about a recipe of which I am familiar, it’s like seeing an old friend.
    Btw I always figured you were a male🙂

Tell me what you are thinking!

