Drink More Gin!

Last autumn I got into making a few of my own fruit liqueurs. Flavours of the season like quince, damson, sloe and spiced pear. Each of them was delicious and well worth the patience required to let them sit and quietly do their thing down in the cellar. Nothing quite as magical as pouring a little glass, and setting down to watch a festive film on the sofa next to the Christmas tree.

However, my autumnal shenanigans left me playing things fairly safely, as I had stuck to familiar fruity flavours. Of course, I had also made a batch of cinnamon-infused vodka, which packed quite a punch, even when served ice-cold, and this got me thinking about making something that was based on herbs and spices. And this quickly led me to the idea of trying to make my own gin.

Now, before anyone gets the idea that I might set fire to my own house or that they should call the police, I’m not actually planning to start running a home distillery under the stairs! No, the recommended approach for those of a gin-like persuasion and sufficiently bonkers to have a go at this at home is to take some decent-ish vodka, and then add various botanicals to allow their flavour to infuse into the alcohol. Given that most of the ingredients you use are fairly strong flavours, the whole thing is done in about three days. What you will get at the end is something that doesn’t look like the clear gin that you are probably used to, but it certainly has the flavours and aromas you might expect. The difference is due to the way commercial gins are produced, allowing the spirit to distil through the botanticals, taking the flavours as it goes and resulting in a clear spirit. My method will give you  bit more of an amber colour, but that probably means it has traces of vitamins in there too.

Now, if you’re going to make gin, the one non-negotiable ingredient in there is juniper berries. These have a wonderfully fruity and almonst pine-like aroma, very resinous, which when you smell them has that specific gin-like aroma. If I were being very ambitious, I would be harvesting these myself, as they grow wild in Scotland. Well, maybe next time, but I had to make do with dried berries from Wholefoods. The bushes tend not to grow wild in the streets of London. Do not be misled by the name London Gin!

Beyond the juniper, you’ve pretty much got complete freedom about what you want to add, and it is at this point that you might just want to raid your spice drawer or cabinet to see what you can get your hands on. The key thing to think about is what are the two or three key notes that you want to come out in terms of flavour, and then major on those, with other ingredients acting more as background flavours, to be hinted at rather than standing centre stage.

As supporting stars, I oped for cardamom, which is just about my favourite spice, with a fresh lemon-like aroma that I thought would enhance the juniper. In addition to that, I added some orange peel (rather than the more obvious lemon or lime) and a blade of star anise. This last spice in particular is very, very powerful. It adds an exotic sweet spicy note, but it really is easy to get this wrong. I added this on day two, and by day three (the last day of infusing) it was already quite noticeable.

GinBotanicals1

After that, free rein beckons. I also added a teaspoon of coriander seeds to add a little more citrus. I also did just as I suggest you do, raiding the spice drawer to add a pinch of the more aromatic items in there – red peppercorns, nigella seeds and caraway.

I also drew some inspiration from a Spanish gin that I enjoyed in Barcelona last year, which was infused with rosemary. That seemed like a good idea to try here. I also went for some thyme and lavender leaves. It was just like picking tea, I plucked only the fresh new leaves from the tips of each plant. Each of these could, on its own, be very powerful, and I did not want much more than a hint of their respective flavours.

Now, I mentioned already that I added a blade of star anise on day two. I also added a small piece of cinnamon at the same time. Both of these are sweet, woody spices, and I thought they would help to balance the fresher flavours that I already had in the gin. I make all of this sound like science, but of course, it really was all just guesswork.

GinBotanicals2

It is important to take all this merely as inspiration, and not to feel limited by what I’ve suggested. I enjoy Hendriks, a Scottish gin flavoured with cucumber and rose petals, as well as a recent discovery called Ophir, which strong notes of cardamom and black peppercorn (note to readers – talk to bartenders, they will introduce you to new things!). Whatever herbs and spices you enjoy, chances are someone makes a gin with it.

What is important is to think about what you’ve got to hand as well as what is in season. I’ve also got a blackcurrant sage bush in the garden, which could be interesting for next time? If I get back to this in summer, I can always add a few rose petals, a few violets, and perhaps a little lemon thyme…balanced with pepper, caraway and aniseed?

Whatever combination of botanicals you use, there is one way to get a rough idea of the aroma you can expect. Put everything into a bowl, then crush lightly. This should release some of the essential oils, and you’ll get a very vague sense of what you can expect. If something is dominating, then remove it, or add more of what you feel you are missing.

botanicals

Making home-made gin is a dooddle. I put everything (other than the cinnamon and star anise) into a bottle of vodka. After one day, that familiar aroma of gin was there, and the vodka has taken on a light amber hue. On day four (72 hours steeping) I strained the mixture, poured a shot into a glass with ice and a slice of cucumber, and topped it up with tonic to make what I hoped would taste not unlike a G&T. So how was it?

gin

Well…really quite fantastic. The flavours are much more pronounced than in distilled gins, and I could pick out the various flavours that I used, but the whole was definitely greater than the sum of its parts. The best way to describe this is as something that is very different from the gin that you are used to, not a replacement, but nice as an addition to the drinks cabinet. It is not as crisp, but you get more of the individual flavour components while drinking. I found that my particular gin was only so-so with lemon, nice with orange zest, but it really came to life with a slice of cucumber. Perhaps it was the fact that there was quite a lot of juniper and warm spice in there that meant it was complemented by the cool freshness of cucumber. All in all – I think I’ve had a success with this one!

To infuse your own gin (makes 750ml):

• 750ml good basic vodka
• 3 tablespoons juniper berries
• 1 teaspoon cardamom pods
• 1 teaspoon coriander seeds
• 1 sprig lavender leaves (tips only)
• 4 sprigs fresh rosemary (tips only)
• 4 sprigs fresh thyme (tips only)
• pinch red peppercorns
• pinch caraway seeds
• pinch nigella seeds
• 2 strips orange peel, shredded
• 1 blade star anise
• 1/2cm piece cinnamon

1. Lightly crush the seeds and bruise the leaves. Put everything in the vodka bottle, apart from the cinnamon and star anise. Leave to infuse in a dark place for two days, shaking from time to time.

2. Add the star anise and cinnamon. Shake well, and leave in a dark place for another 24 hours, shaking from time to time.

3. Once the mixture is ready, strain to remove the seeds and herbs. If you prefer, pass through a filter.

4. Enjoy on ice with tonic and a slice of cucumber.

Worth making? Yes! This is super-easy and the flavours are really fantastic.

22 Comments

Filed under Drinks

22 responses to “Drink More Gin!

  1. You had me hooked with the title of this post!

  2. We love Gin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs from Dominican Republic!

  3. Wow! You are brave with all those flavours! I infused vodka with lots of citrus one year and make Limoncello, but other than that, I’m a wimp when it comes to lots of herbs, spices and flavourings…but it’s on my “to-do” list to expand my horizons in this area! 😉

    • Ooooh, limoncello, that is on my to-make list. I’ve only gotten as far as (fake) gin by infusing simpler things, so think of it as a learning process. In fairness, I also used just a little bit of most of the ingredietns – so many of them pack such a lot of flavour that you could easily over-spice the whol lot!

  4. Such an inspiring post! I’ve tried so many gins that have been overly-infused with ingredients, so it’s a great alternative to make it at home to my taste. Have you tried infusing for longer than two days? Do you think it would make a big difference? Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you like the post, and what a great question. My experience with infusing is that different things will flavour your base alcohol at different rates. The juniper works fairly quickly, so it has a good flavour after the three days. The cinnamon and mace go really fast, so I only had them in there for a day. The rosemary, thyme and lavender seemed more delicate, so I think would have benefitted from being in there for longer. It would be a big piece of work, but the best way might be to work out how long things need to be in the alcohol, and add them in order – plants on day one, seeds on day three, strong spices on day five…

      Of course, the longer you leave things, the stronger the flavour. I made a spiced pear drink with nutmeg, orange zest and cinnamon, which I left to sit for about four months. The result? Delicious!

  5. Ah this sounds fantastic! Love gin and am definitely going to give this a go!

  6. This looks so yummy! I have been sampling my way through the gin bar in Newcastle’s menu, (pleased to meet you). The other day I had spiced orange with a square of dark chocolate in it as a garnish. Delicious. Maybe I should try my hand at making gin instead of just baking for one of my recipe challenges!

  7. annika - all the live long day

    I never knew one could make their own gin. I love G&Ts in the summer, and seeing as it’s slowly getting warmer outside, I may have to give this a go.

  8. WOW!!! I’ve never thought about how to even make gin. I do infuse a lot of vodkas, and this sounds perfectly similar!!! Thank you for the idea. By the way, I just tasted a fairly new gin on the market that’s from France called
    G’Vine. A strange name, but it is floral and fabulous. Check it out if you can!!!

  9. I’m a gin drinker (love Hendricks) and have made fruit infusions in the past too. This is a fantastic idea.

  10. Gin is my favourite tipple so am definitely giving this a go thanks. Great tip re the juniper berries – they also don’t grow in north London where I live (well, I wouldn’t risk picking anything off the roadside anyway for fear of accidentally picking something poisonous).

  11. Beautiful photos! So crisp. Thanks for sharing!

  12. This post is my saviour! I love gin, but rarely get to drink the good stuff. Nice to know there are options, so thank you for sharing it! Also, your blog is absolutely lovely and the photos are to die for!

    • Hi Pearl – very happy to come to the rescue! If you’re after a particular flavour, I would suggest getting hold of a few 100ml bottles, and playing around with the botanicals until you get something you like. I was really thinking all my spice would work with a slice of orange in my G&T, but it turned out that it all worked best with a slice of cucumber, so it’s part science, part alchemy.

      Glad you like the site and the photos – aim to please 😉

  13. I made this a few weeks ago and definitely will be my new summer beverage (whenever summer finally arrives!) I have never been a huge fan of G&T’s but love this flavour combination…thanks for sharing. Kate

Tell me what you are thinking!